Illustration: a dossier collage of generic campaign-era posters, loudspeaker trucks and rally crowds.

Soufan Center 9/11 book does not disclose its founder's Qatari academy post or a $500,000 academy fee; it treats Hamas as an Iran proxy and Qatar as a venue.

Illustration, not an archive object

Filed
September 29, 2026, 05:50 UTC
Actor
The Soufan Center (New York nonprofit, EIN 81-2254771) and Qatar International Academy for Security Studies (QIASS, Doha), with Qatar Ministry of Foreign Affairs leadership overlapping the academy
Target
U.S. and allied counterterrorism readers, journalists, and policymakers who treat Soufan-branded 9/11 analysis as independent expertise; secondarily U.S. campus and Congress audiences in the parallel funding fight
Source
Unidentified Source blurred: contractors, cutouts, buried disclosure
Confidence
high Multiple independent open sources, low disagreement about the facts
Techniques
Narrative launderingDisclosure theaterCard stackingTransferAccusation in a mirror
Where
United States, Qatar
Channels
  • anniversary research volume hosted on thesoufancenter.org
  • Global Security Forum staged in Doha under QIASS
  • Soufan Group biography and QIASS training brand
  • New York charities filings and IRS Form 990
  • donate-page foreign-government disclaimer
  • Qatari embassy social replies and Brandeis Center letter
  • U.S. Department of Education Section 117 dashboard

Summary

In September 2026 The Soufan Center published 25 Years After 9/11: The Future of the Global Jihadi Movement, a 9/11-anniversary volume edited by Colin P. Clarke and Clara Broekaert with a preface by Ali Soufan. The same week, Middle East Forum published a sourced count of the book and of fifteen years of Center copy, and the Louis D. Brandeis Center wrote Qatar's ambassador asking for a complete public accounting of Qatari money in U.S. higher education. Primary records already on file show the method independently of MEF's characterizations: Soufan Group's own biography states Ali Soufan is executive director of the Qatar International Academy for Security Studies; Qatar's foreign ministry says Majed al-Ansari has headed that academy since 2019 while serving as ministry spokesman; Soufan Center's FY2024 Form 990 records $500,000 in program-service revenue, 48 percent of $1,033,205 total; and the Center's donate page says it does not accept donations from any foreign government. Confidence is high on the dual hat and the fee; medium on whether omission in the book is editorial capture rather than scope choice. No response from the Soufan Center or QIASS is on record.

Analysis

The load-bearing mechanism this cycle is not a bot farm. It is a prestige surface. An American counterterrorism shop that markets independence publishes a 25th-anniversary book on the global jihadi movement. The founder is, on his own firm's page, executive director of QIASS in Doha. Qatar's Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in a 2022 appointment notice still on mofa.gov.qa, states that spokesman Majed al-Ansari has headed that academy since 2019. QIASS hosts the Global Security Forum in Doha under the auspices of Qatar's prime minister and foreign minister. Money travels the other way as a fee, not a labeled grant: ProPublica's posting of Soufan Center Inc.'s FY2024 Form 990 shows $500,000 of program-service revenue against $1,033,205 total revenue. Middle East Forum, reading the Center's 2024 audited statements on file with the New York Attorney General, identifies that fee as an annual $500,000 payment from the same academy for an unspecified period and says it was 100 percent of program-service fee revenue. That last identification is MEF's reading of a state filing, not a line the 990 itself prints in public HTML, so it is marked as such.

Disclosure theater is the donate page. The Center tells donors it does not accept donations from any foreign government. A program-service contract with a Qatari academy headed by the foreign ministry's spokesman is not, in accounting language, a donation. The audience that meets the book, the clip, or the expert on television does not meet the 990. Transfer applies when the founder's FBI record and 9/11 association lend authority to a product linked to a Doha academy he also directs.

Card-stacking is the editorial pile. The book exists and is primary. A browse of the posted PDF finds Hamas described as embedded in Iran's proxy network and finds Qatar appearing as a negotiation venue or a listed third party, not as a subject of its analysis of Hamas. Muslim Brotherhood does not surface in the extracted front and back matter. Whether this is scope choice or editorial capture is not established; the volume does not disclose the founder's QIASS post or the academy fee. If the omission reflects the funding tie rather than scope, the system-level name is narrative laundering: a framing favorable to Doha (Hamas is Iran's file; Qatar is a forum, not a subject) would exit through a New York nonprofit that journalists treat as a third-party expert.

A second, same-week vector is not the book but the funding argument around U.S. campuses. On 10 September 2026 the Brandeis Center asked Ambassador Sheikh Meshal bin Hamad al-Thani for a complete public accounting of Qatari government and Qatar Foundation money in U.S. higher education. Congressional Research Service, using the Education Department's Section 117 portal, already records Qatar as the largest-dollar foreign source (about $8.8 billion as of 23 February 2026) and flags a restricted Cornell-Qatar contract of about $1.1 billion for Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar in 2026-2032. Cornell's public line, quoted in campus and trade press, is that virtually all of that money stays in Doha to run the medical school. That distinction is load-bearing and should be kept: a contract to operate a campus in Qatar is not the same object as a gift to a U.S. campus. ISGAP's 8 September paper treats delayed faculty-restriction language in the Cornell disclosure as interference; that is an advocacy reading of a real Section 117 row, not a court finding.

The embassy side of the campus fight answers with a counter-charge. Jewish Insider records deputy ambassador Hamad Al-Muftah answering critics as a coordinated disinformation campaign while saying Qatar has zero intention to hide anything. The embassy's response does not itemize the agreements, amounts and governance rights the Brandeis letter requested. It does not answer the Brandeis ask for agreements, amounts, and governance rights.

Why the disclosure gap is scored here: the product is offered as independent anniversary expertise while the operator's second hat and the academy fee are not traveling with the product. Why it is not a covert CIB network: the dual hat is on a public biography, the 990 is public, QIASS is a named Doha institute, and FARA lists cited by MEF do not show the Center or the academy as registrants. White-to-gray, not black.

Literacy counter: when a counterterrorism book or talking head is used as a third-party source, open the author's current appointments and the shop's latest 990 before the chapter list. If program-service revenue is a six-figure line from one foreign academy, note that the donate-page disclaimer covers donations, not program-service contracts. Separate Doha operating contracts from U.S.-campus gifts; demand the contract text, not the aggregate. Apply the same disclosure test to every expert source.

Tells

Evidence

  1. Soufan Center book PDF: 25 Years After 9/11, first printing 2026
  2. Soufan Center donate page: no foreign-government donations
  3. Soufan Group biography: Ali Soufan is QIASS executive director
  4. Qatar MFA: Majed al-Ansari appointed spokesman; headed QIASS since 2019
  5. ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer: Soufan Center Inc EIN 81-2254771 FY2024 990
  6. MEF 10 Sept 2026 sourced count of the book and NY AG audited fee language
  7. Jewish Insider 10 Sept 2026: Brandeis Center letter to Qatari ambassador
  8. CRS IF12927: Section 117 portal; Qatar top dollar source; Cornell-Qatar contract
  9. ISGAP 8 Sept 2026 paper on Cornell Section 117 Qatar disclosures
  10. QIASS about page and GSF hosting claim

Related briefs